Interview: Ilana Armida

Hot off the heels of the release of her debut EP, Ilana Armida discusses the recording process with Legendary Kids Press.

Ilana Armida is an up-and-coming pop and R&B artist from Florida. With the recent release of her debut EP Iridescent Flower Child, she’s looking to broaden her fanbase and reach a new range of listeners. Will she do it? We certainly think so!

How would you describe your sound to those who have never listened to your music before?

Ilana Armida: My music falls under the pop/R&B genre. It’s pop sounding vocals with a lot of 90s R&B influenced melodies. You can hear hints of hip-hop, soul, funk and more in the music. I have a lot of different influences, so the music is really eclectic.

What made you want to get involved in music?

IA: My mom said I have been singing since I could talk and dancing since I could walk. I remember there was always music playing in my house when I was a kid. My dad and I would listen to Otis Redding, Aretha Franklin [and] Michael Jackson, and we would just dance and sing along. I remember how the music would make me feel and make me want to move, and I knew I wanted to have that affect on people through music. My parents would make me stand on tables and sing in front of family and friends, [I’ve] just never stopped performing since.

Who were your musical influences growing up, and how have they affected the music you’re creating now?

IA: I am a 90s baby, so I was influenced by TLC, Aaliyah, Alanis Morissette, Janet Jackson and other strong female artists. You can definitely hear the nods to these artists in my music.

You released your debut EP Iridescent Flower Child a few weeks ago. How has fan reaction been thus far?

IA: So far, I have gotten nothing but positive feedback. I have fans surfacing all around the world who tweet me about how much they love the project! It’s been great. Now we just have to push it so more and more people hear.

What was the writing and recording process like?

IA: Most of IFC was recorded in a week. ‘Pretend’, ‘This Feeling’ and ‘Still Down For You’ were songs that I had been working on for a while, but the rest all happened pretty much at once. I had a lot to talk about and my producer and I worked hard to pump them out quickly. I recorded everything myself in my home studio and had it mixed by my wicked talent engineer, ArTiChoKe.

Where do you get the inspiration for your lyrics?

IA: I write from personal experience. Everything I talk about in my music comes from something I have felt or gone through. I think that is why fans have been able to relate thus far.

Which track would you say is your favourite, and why?

IA: Man, that is kind of like picking my favourite child, haha. I think my favourite right now is ‘You’ve Got What I Want’ because it is so much fun and pretty damn sexy.

Do you have any plans to tour in support of the EP?

IA: We are working on putting a solid show together first and then hopefully a string of shows.

Where do you hope to take your music in the future?

IA: Now that this project is out, I am itching to make more music. I plan to continue to create. I really would love to do an album and a tour.

Any last words?

IA: I hope everyone listens to Iridescent Flower Child, out now on iTunes and Spotify, and make sure to follow my social media accounts @ilanaarmida for more updates about my music and life. Send me a tweet about IFC and I will be sure to respond!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

